The Quiz 2016

The Ultimate News Quiz 2016


On Thursday 3rd March, stars from the world of media, sports and arts battled for a Grayson Perry ceramic cat, company pride, and to be crowned champions of current affairs knowledge by hosts Sophie Raworth and Tom Bradby, who managed to put their traditional BBC/ITV rivalry to one side for the night.

Newsroom boffins from Channel 5 News triumphed through eight rounds of news trivia questions to become the first team in Ultimate News Quiz history to win two years in a row.

The event’s 10 year anniversary saw a retro 2006 news trivia round hosted by news legends Michael Buerk and Julia Somerville, and a raffle with one of the most sought after prizes in the history of the Quiz: an 8-inch ceramic cat specially donated by renowned artist Grayson Perry.

The night raised £94,000 for Action for Children and Restless Development, which will help support children and young people in the UK, Africa and Asia. With generous support from the Premier League, the event brought a total raised of over £750,000 for charity by the quiz in the last ten years.

Martha Kearney, co-founder of the Ultimate News Quiz and BBC Radio 4 presenter, said:

“This year seemed even more competitive than usual as teams battled for the kudos of taking home the trophy on the tenth Ultimate News Quiz night. Congratulations go to the Channel 5 News brainiacs for their winning performance, and thanks to our hosts and all who attended for raising money for a great cause.”


And finally… Some of the picks from the charity auction held by TV auctioneer Philip Serrell were:

  • a game of doubles on the All England Tennis Club with Judy Murray and Graeme Le Saux
  • signed shirts from famous ‘No 10s’ Eden Hazard, Jack Wilshere, Sergio Aguero, Wayne Rooney, Harry Kane
  • and, special for the Tenth Ultimate News Quiz – a hamper of Downing Street delights containing goodies such as Sea Island Coffee, Churchill’s Port and handmade fudge assortment, signed by David and ‘star baker’ Samantha Cameron and George Osborne


Organising Committee

Alastair Bennett, Anne Jenkin,  Bill Rudgard, Chris Shaw, Dan Faulks, David Buik, David Kermode, Dianne Stradling, Geraldine Ryan, Jennifer Stevens, Jonathan Munro, Katie Perrior, Maisie O’Malley, Maria Lini, Martha Kearney, Polly Armstrong-Beaver, Robin Elias, Shaminder Nahal, Steffan Williams, Tracey MacLeod, Vivien Fowle.